Educational Board of Science


  • to initiate and contribute to the formulation of overall visions and plans, and to implement the Disciplinary Domain Board’s decisions on the long-term development of educational programmes and freestanding courses;
  • to monitor various aspects of quality in the education and individual programmes, take decisions on measures and procedures to improve quality, and report to the Disciplinary Domain Board;
  • to take the initiative on matters concerning updates to teaching methods and examinations, study completion and results, student recruitment and marketing;
  • to take the initiative on general issues concerning national and international educational collaborations;
  • to structure and update programmes in response to internationalisation, research, and the needs of industry and society;
  • to formulate and revise goals for the respective programmes and follow up on those goals;
  • to monitor and support the work of the programme directors and programme boards and, where required, take decisions concerning their duties;
  • to prepare proposals for new educational programmes;
  • to establish new courses;
  • where necessary, to take decisions to revise syllabi, study plans and course syllabi for programmes and freestanding courses within the scope of each Educational Board (the Disciplinary Domain Board approves syllabi and study plans for newly established programmes);
  • to appoint examiners;
  • to collaborate with other educational boards.


Regular members: Chair (N), seven teachers, two industry representatives, five students. Alternates: Three teachers and three students.

The faculty members should provide a broad representation of departments and subject areas in terms of each board’s educational responsibilities. No faculty member is permitted to be a director of studies, a programme director or a subject coordinator. At least one faculty member should have been appointed distinguished university teacher. Faculty and industry representatives are appointed by the Disciplinary Domain Board (for by-elections, by the Working Committee) on the recommendation of N, following consultation with the Deputy Dean of Education. The board appoints a deputy chair from among its members. The faculty’s senior faculty administrators and one representative of the Council for Educational Development (TUR) with the right to speak at meetings participate in the meetings.

Typically three minuted meetings are held per semester.


Susanne Mirbt, ordf. utsedd av elektorsförsamlingen (inst. för fysik)
Ulrike Heiter (inst. för fysik och astronomi)
Anna Sakovich (matematiska inst.)
Thomas Kalscheuer (inst. för geovetenskaper)
Sebastian Sobek (inst. för ekologi och genetik)
Lars-Henrik Eriksson (inst. för informationsteknologi)
Doreen Dobritzsch (inst.för kemi - BMC)
Brita Svensson (TUR-representant)
Olle Bergh (yrkeslivsrepresentant, Uppsala kommun, utbildningsförvaltningen)
Henrik Ihre, Strategic Technologies, Cytiva (yrkeslivsrepresentant) 
Colin Andersson (studentrepresentant)
Gabriel Granberg (studentrepresentant)
Pelle Ingvast (studentrepresentant)
Ivar Sjögren Bennemo (studentrepresentant)
 Annie Paulsson (studentrepresentant)

Ola Eriksson (inst. för geovetenskaper)
Rolf Larsson (matematiska institutionen)
Ingrid Ahnesjö (inst. för ekologi och genetik)
Casper Fredriksson De Rond (studentrepresentant)
Richard Robertsson (studentrepresentant)
Carl Wallskog (studentrepresentant)

(Ledamöter utsedda för 2019-01-01—2021-12-31, ordförande utsedd för 2020-07-01—2023-06-30, studenter utsedda för läsår 2020/2021)

Programme Boards

Each programme has a programme board headed by the individual responsible for the programme.

The principal task of the programme board is to strengthen the quality of the programme and to advance its development, and also to function as an advisory body for the individuals responsible for the programmes with regard to their duties.

Operational leadership and duties of the Programme Boards

Programme Boards (Swedish)

Last modified: 2021-02-03